Why Should I Twitter?

Who cares what I am doing?
Why do I care what someone else is doing?

All good questions.  All questions I asked myself when I began to Twitter. I’ll be honest I was not an early adapter to Twitter. I am a marketing professional and in the beginning I did not get it. My thought was that busy professionals don’t have time for something so useless.

I do not claim to be a social media expert but I do have some experience in using social media myself and managing social media strategies for clients.  Here is my take on Twitter for the small usiness owner…

  1. CLEAR GOALS
    1. Make sure you have a clear goal in mind for your Twitter (overall social media) strategy
    2. “I need to do it just to catch up with everyone else” is NOT a valid reason
      1. If you need help – talk to your marketing coach
  2. CONNECTION
    1. Companies can effectively use Twitter as part of their strategy to stay connected to their clients and prospects
    2. A key element to bringing value here is to join the conversation, don’t just push your company or product
  3. INFLUENCE
    1. It is about quality of the connections, not quantity (see #1 on this list)
    2. According to a new HP study having a large numbers of followers does not equate to influence
      1. If you want highlights of the study read this blog post from ZDNET
  4. INSIGHT
    1. You can gain insight into your customers by reading their Tweets (see #2 on this list)
  5. WRITE BETTER
    1. Twitter can help make you a better writer
      1. Saying something worthwhile in 140 characters or less is NOT easy
      2. Saying it in 120 characters so others can retweet it is even more challenging

I have more to say but I’ll stop here – this is a blog post not a text book.  I am sure I will Tweet about it later.

Social media is still so new.  I am leery of anyone who claims to be a true “social media expert”.  To be an expert in something you need to have years of experience in it. That said I still seek out wisdom from those more experienced in it than I am. [side note: One of those great sources is Alltop. It brings together articles from some of the most notable sites on social media around the web.]

Want to join this conversation?  Post a comment or send me a Tweet. My Twitter handle is @kkarel.

Still working to stay connected…

-KK

About Kerri Karel

Kerri has over 21 years of well-rounded experience in marketing, ecommerce and public relations. She has lead multi-million dollar marketing and ecommerce projects. Additionally she has 10 years of start-up experience. She also has 10 years experience in planning trade shows, special events and conferences. View all posts by Kerri Karel

One response to “Why Should I Twitter?

  • adv180

    Kerri,

    This is a really helpful post for clients. We are trying to teach our clients and other small businesses the ins and outs of the advertising and marketing world. We appreciate posts like yours. Please check out our website and let us know what you think.

    Thanks.

    http://advertising180.net/

Leave a Reply

