You’re not My Type…

About a year ago my pastor asked for help in learning how to Twitter (and blog but that’s a post for another day).  He wanted to better engage with his congregation. I wrote him a basic “how to” guide and am in the process of modifying it for business.  I thought I’d share that guide with you.  If you would like a copy, please email me at kd_1689@comcast.net and I’ll be sure you to send one once the revision is complete.

This basic Twitter strategy guide talks about the purpose of Twittering, types of Twitter users (as defined by me), what to Tweet about, how often to do it, list of some resources to learn more, an overview of Twitter tools and steps to get started.

Today I thought I would share my take on the types of Twitter users.

Types Twitter Users

There are four basic types of Twitter Users (as defined by Kerri Karel compiled from multiple articles) –

  1. Leaders – Those who post their content on Twitter (generally these people are followed by others but may not follow many people themselves).  Their content consists of tidbits from their teachings, web sites, blogs, etc. and also some personal Tweets that give the reader a glimpse into who they are and what they care about (family, church, friends, passions, etc.)
  2. Social Butterflies – Those who want to be social with people (these people tend to follow people and get followed in return).  They twitter about everything from the latest tech gadget or application to where they are going to what they are doing.
  3. Observers (Stalkers) – Those who follow a large number of people, have very few followers and very few posts of their own. They want to see what others are talking about but do not wish to join in the conversation. They do not contribute anything.
  4. Cheeseballs – Those who use Twitter (and other social media) only to push their own products/services or agenda.  They miss the purpose, and therefore the power, of social networking. They are only focused on what followers can do for them (buy my product, read my stuff, answer my questions, etc.) and not interested in making a meaningful contribution.

As I mentioned yesterday my Twitter handle is @kkarel.

Catch you on Twitter.  Maybe we can Tweetup.

-KK

About Kerri Karel

Kerri has over 21 years of well-rounded experience in marketing, ecommerce and public relations. She has lead multi-million dollar marketing and ecommerce projects. Additionally she has 10 years of start-up experience. She also has 10 years experience in planning trade shows, special events and conferences. View all posts by Kerri Karel

Leave a Reply

